Fish

Papa has encouraged me to always stop and look at the fish counter when I am shopping. I am notoriously bad at buying fish (I had a fish bone phobia after a bone caught in my throat as a child), but he scored some cod on super sale recently which I enjoyed cooking, so I am trying harder. I saw some monkfish at an incredible price. I rarely even see it on sale here, let alone at a 40% discount. Darina Allen had a recipe I wanted to try, so I forged ahead.

It was involved (roasted red pepper sauce)


Papa was appreciative, but also eager to impart his knowledge. As a child his family simply dipped the monkfish in melted butter.

It was divine. There is no going back. It was like lobster, without getting itchy shell juice on my hands!


That same weekend we tried to see if the fish had woken up at Spot Pond.

All we caught was plastic debris that we gathered for the trash can


Conor held out for a bite but it wasn’t to be

Leave a Reply

