Jams in July

I spent a lot of time over the span of a week in early July making jam. Papa was away a lot so I experimented with late-night jam making. It worked, though was tiring! Better than having a baby at my feet getting boiled jam bubbling on him though.

28185201984_f4681f904a_z

If I don’t make gooseberry jam my mother AND mother-in-law will disown me

I made two batches because of the time crunch. Usually I only make one, because you are supposed to make small batches, for better jam. But two batches at once ensures you still have small batches, and not that much extra stirring to be honest.

28802683735_d361e04cfe_z

The gooseberry and golden raisin conserve at the back turned out much nicer again this year than the plain old gooseberry. Next year I might just  make double of that.

Leave a Reply

