Day: November 4, 2015

Nice Start to November

November has started out balmy, sunny, and warm here. Now if only daylight savings hadn’t come along and thrown us off just a little too much!

We went to Game 3 of the Celtics, against the Spurs. The Celtics were incapable of scoring…

Go Celtics!

Yesterday we got to burn some extra daylight because Conor had an early release day, which also meant Eoin had no school. A glorious warm day meant a perfect opportunity for the bouncy house.

“I believe I can fly!”

Keeping Ciara Warm

I mentioned previously that I got TWO lovely new nieces this summer. I was adamant that I make something for Ciara that would keep her toasty when she goes on sabbatical with her family to upstate New York this winter. I got a lovely hand-dyed sock yarn (Project B Dinah) in Montréal four years ago, right after attending Dónal and Julie’s wedding in France. It was pretty perfect that I should use it. It didn’t take me quite as long to finish this project because my mojo was basically back (and the colors were so glorious). The pattern was enjoyable too. It’s Sunnyside by Tanis Lavallee.

I love how the lace almost looks like cables

Now on the needles? Something for my own baby, at last!

Halloween Festivities

We kicked off a week of Halloween celebrations with the school Halloween party. Eoin missed it because of his tummy but Conor got in the spirit of things. I manned the craft table and helped the kids make really cute lollipops.

Now imagine this ten minutes later with 100 more kids…

Saturday morning cartoons

Conor had hockey for the first part of the town’s trick or treat event, so Eoin and I checked it out first, with Conor and Papa joining later.

Superman in the old burying ground

Superman at the TV station

Farmor came for some meetings for a couple of days. Snuggles and games alert!

Super snugglers!

I entrusted some Ball-jar-lid pumpkins to her to bring back for David to thank him for his Pumpkin Package. I had seen the idea on Pinterest but I didn’t have orange spray paint, so they had copious layers of paint, and weren’t really the effect I was looking for. I will do something better next year! (I think my friend Teresa’s photo card hopefully made up for it though!!!)

Cute

Next up it was high time we carved the pumpkin, so since we were letting the boys stay up a little later to watch the Patriots we added in some extra difficulty with sharp tools and fire…

A team effort

The next day was one day away from Halloween… I decided spur of the moment, since I had gone out and gotten Eoin a costume that he had FINALLY settled on, that I would make a Diamond Armor Steve (from Minecraft) costume for Conor with some leftover fleece I had. It is very rudimentary but he loves it and frankly it just made me very happy to make something personal for him. He was going to be Batman like last year, then Karen gave him N’s Captain Rex costume which he loved wearing to the school party, but then he got all wishy-washy when Eoin got a new costume… The man didn’t have a clue what he wanted, but I sure did…

Success!

Hope you all had a Happy Halloween!!!

Most Expensive Lego Piece

As I tried to attend Town Meeting last week I was alerted by a text that Papa was bringing Eoin to the Emergency Room. No other details. So I got a trial run at getting to the hospital quickly…

Excellent patient

Eoin was a fantastic patient, telling everyone “I’m not afraid of anything.” Which thankfully turned out to be true. He had really wedged a tiny Lego piece up his nose however, so it took a little time to resolve while the nurses and doctors tried the less invasive methods first. All in all, we were in and out in 2 hours 45 minutes.

Of course, the next day Eoin had a flash tummy bug, but he got over that one quickly too. He appears to be wise about sleeping things off…

Snuggly

This fella seems to be king of random trips to the ER, but I think we will take it, as long as they continue to be just for stupid things, rather than that he’s really really sick…