Hats for Mum

As I sent off a final hat package today to Mum in Ireland I realised I never posted about the knits I brought with me on my visit. My friend Teresa asked me before I went whether she could make Mum a hat. It was such a lovely gesture that made me so happy. Look how gorgeously she wrapped it!!!

Teresa is creative in everything she does – even wrapping

I did not manage to get a flattering picture of mum in the beautiful hat so I will point you to Teresa’s project page on ravelry for her lovely pictures: Double Double Cloche in Sirdar Snuggly DK

I also used Sirdar Snuggly DK in the project I brought with me. I had finished the Lacunae Hat and was still finishing the mitts while I was home. I got plenty of comments in the hospital during the chemotherapy. Most people were amazed at the number of needles (four DPNs AND a cable needle) or they were jealous of Mum’s ability to still use the iPad with fingerless mitts…

Lacunae Hat and Mitts

I liked this pattern a lot. It is Lacunae by Anne Hanson. I knit it in Sirdar Snuggly DK. I went too long on the hat. When it said to knit to a certain length then stop on a particular row I was half an inch off and added another repeat. I knew it felt wrong but continued nonetheless. Thankfully the hat looks nice folded up into a brim because it is so reversible. As for the mitts, they are delightful and I hope to make a pair for myself too.

Stay tuned for a picture of the most recent hat, which I posted today.

One comment

Leave a Reply

