4th Annual Knitting and Crochet Blog Week: Day One – The Sorting Hat

This year eskimimi has added a fun element to blog week; Choose a house, like in Harry Potter! I immediately gravitated towards the House of Monkey.

Ooh Ooh AAH!

The House of Monkey: Intelligent and with a fun loving side, Monkeys like to be challenged with every project presenting them with something new and interesting.

I love to try new things. Last year during blog week I said I wanted to attempt lace and colorwork in the next year. I made a simple lace baby blanket (oh hey, would you look at that – Cian’s other blanket was a MONKEY!) and my next project is going to be a more intricate rectangular wrap/shawl. I also attended a fair isle class but chose the wrong colors for the sample (they didn’t show up at all) so I didn’t get a finished object out of that. While I have no color projects on the horizon I at least am not nervous about it anymore! I wasn’t entirely impressed by the class and felt I could have learned more from a video online or one of my excellent books like The Principles of Knitting to be honest. It has helped me realize that I can learn anything I can put my mind to. I have not been put off taking a class again but I would choose my teacher wisely next time.
4KCBWDAY1

4 comments

  1. You know, I haven’t accomplished any of the goals I set last year. I’m going to have to do something about that.

  2. You are a monkey for sure! You’re always knitting something fun and challenging.
    Elizabeth Zimmermann has some great colorwork info in her books. She suggests that your first project be colorwork: a hat that you knit as a swatch before beginning a sweater.

  3. Hiya, I wondered if any other Apr 2012 ladies were taking part 🙂 I remember saying I wanted to learn colourwork last time I did blog week (2 years ago) and I still haven’t got around to it! I’m a bee though, so I just keep finiding other things to do instead.

  4. Welcome to blog week or as I read yesterday: Fluffwarts. As a learning monkey, you seem to have actually found your mascot work outside of knitting already with that cute monkey blanket!

Leave a Reply

