Knitting Hats

I have been knitting a lot of hats lately. First there were the two Ravines, then I made a Classic World War II Watchcap for my dad for Christmas. I had to give it to him on the needles and got quite a befuddled look. You can tell he grew up in a crochet household without DPNs…

How does this work again?

My April babies knitting forum on ravelry also organized a knit-along/swap where we would each knit a surprise hat for someone else in our group. I sent mine off yesterday and we received Eoin’s in the mail today! This has been an amazing experience with a great bunch of ladies who all had babies around April and I just loved the swap idea. Eoin’s hat is superwarm, great for this horribly cold weather! I can’t wait to try it out tomorrow!

How did WordLily know I love cables???

I will update with the hat that I knit for the swap next week when it has arrived at its secret destination! I actually knitted two, because I wasn’t sure about sending the first, but the second was too small. It will go to Germany to a friend who just posted on Facebook that she had a baby boy!

I don’t like the placing of the earflaps

The pattern is Ingelill Hat by Jennifer Hagan. The only project for it on ravelry is by the designer itself, so I don’t know how much it was test knit. I would certainly change where I place the ear flaps next time. They are too far back on the head. I used the remains of my Quince & Co. Chickadee yarn, which is an absolute delight to knit with.

2 comments

  1. Yay, I’m so glad (once again) that you like the hat! I’m hoping it’s big/stretchy enough to fit him next year, too.

    That’s sad about the earflap hat, you wouldn’t think you’d have to worry about the placement of the earflaps. :-/

Leave a Reply

