Nap Time is for Knitting

Write about your typical crafting time. When it is that you are likely to craft – alone or in more social environments, when watching TV or whilst taking bus journeys. What items do you like to surround yourself with whilst you twirl your hook like a majorette’s baton or work those needles like a skilled set of samurai swords. Do you always have snacks to hand, or are you a strictly ‘no crumbs near my yarn!’ kind of knitter.

A look at the video from Friday will help you understand how I am unable to knit while Conor is around. I knit to relax, and, although I am working on it, I find it hard to relax when he is around. He is a very active, very curious fella!

Conor usually takes a good 2-hour nap around 12pm. So I fix myself lunch then watch TV while knitting. Of course, this does not always work out. Monday I mopped then ate, then knitted, Tuesday I sewed some baby gifts, Wednesday I prepared a meal for the slow cooker, then cast on a sleeve, Thursday I blogged, Friday W was home so we played a board game. I feel very knit-deprived this week! At the weekends I get less knitting done because we use nap time to play board games or have a nice fry-up breakfast etc. I try to knit in the evenings once Conor is asleep too but sometimes he takes longer to get down than others, and I have been slightly less tired recently and thus playing more board games!

Next week W is away so I will have less housework and more knitting time during the day, and less cooking so less clean-up in the evening! I think I will be in knitting heaven. I hope to get the baby sweater gift finished.

My family and friends ask me how I can find the time to knit. I tell them that I need the time to help me relax. I find myself much more cranky if I have not had the chance to knit in a few days. I felt bad for a while about taking an hour’s break to knit during the middle of the day, but I realised that it’s just completely necessary for a functioning Mama. Plus my day does not usually end until 8pm with all the clean-up after cooking the meal, bath-time etc.

Oh, one lament I have is that flying used to be so great for knitting (or reading!) but it is now impossible with the spinning-top escape-artist baby we have spawned. The flight home from Ireland at Christmas was a bit of an ordeal, so I am kind of dreading the flight to Europe in May! If it’s night-time, it’s okay. But otherwise, woe betide anyone trying to contain the Chubbs.

3 comments

  1. I definitely need to knit as a stress buster. It’s the first thing I reach for. Even if I only knit a couple of rows before bed, it helps me relax at the end of the day.

  2. You have to take care of yourself! Taking time for yourself makes you a much better Mama in the end. Never feel guilty for taking an hour for yourself!

Leave a Reply

