Something to Aspire to

Is there a pattern or skill that you don’t yet feel ready to tackle but which you hope to (or think you can only dream of) tackling in the future, near or distant? Is there a skill or project that makes your mind boggle at the sheer time, dedication and mastery of the craft? Maybe the skill or pattern is one that you don’t even personally want to make but can stand back and admire those that do. Maybe it is something you think you will never be bothered to actually make but can admire the result of those that have.

I would most like to tackle lace next. I just saw a lace blanket today that I would love to make. In fact, a blanket and lace are the things I most dream about making. I am nervous to start a blanket because of the amount of time and yarn that would be involved. Conor has also had many blankets made for him: One made for my first child by my grandmother before she died (and I was only 21!), one by his Farmor, and one by my friend Una.

Warm and cherished

We have many blankets in the house, so I feel like a blanket would not be needed. I thought about making a blanket for family but it would take so long that it might lose all purpose. Plus, I do not get much knitting time, so projects tend to be shorter and sweeter so that I can feel some sense of accomplishment. Still, I would love to make a blanket from Noro yarn, most likely the Lizard Ridge by Laura Aylor. I also just bought the pattern for the Mitered Crosses blanket by Kay Gardiner to help Japan. Both blankets show off the yarn colours so well.

As for lace, I think I have set my sights very high – but the title says to write about something I aspire to, and this definitely would be worth delving into lace for! I would like to knit any lace designed by Kieran Foley, most probably starting with the Seascape wrap, because I think I could maybe maybe manage it, and I love the sea.

5 comments

  1. Don’t tell anyone but lace isn’t hard. It’s just making holes where you want them. Now knitting a blanket on the other hand is a commitment, a major commitment.

  2. This is why I rarely do blankets, though I’m currently working on the Lizard Ridge (and have been for YEARS, lol!). But they’re just so beautiful, I can’t resist.

  3. Why dont you take the plunge and attempt some lace? With groups like the beginner lace knitters on ravelry to help hold hand you can do this. I know cause I did it. I was not getting anywhere on my own but the lovely ravelry mob helped.

  4. You have two wonderful aspirations. If you really love blankets, then you should make one, but yes, it’ll be a project that will take some time, even a baby one. A child can never have too many. The ones he has now are just amazing! As for lace, start w/that Seascape one which seems manageable :O). Mahalo for mentioning Kieran Foley. Just spectacular designs! I’ll be fav’ing some of his patterns on Rav.

  5. Oh my, that Seascape is stunning! Of course, I have added it to my favourites. As far as lace goes, I say jump in with both feet! The only important thing is to remember to count often (as ripping back is not a simple task with a lacy item). I look forward to seeing you achieve your goals!

Leave a Reply

