Early Christmas Present

I got a swift and ball winder as part of my Christmas present from Camilla. I decided they were not at all portable, but they could help me make my new knitting project much more portable for bringing to Christmas in Ireland.

This is the swift. You put the skein of yarn around it, supported by your adoring fans.

This is the ball winder. You turn the handle round and round and the yarn feeds in easily because the swift spins around.

Hey presto! A ball of yarn!

Wonderful entertainment for a 6-year-old boy too. We had Jeremy’s Ben winding all five skeins of Lovisa’s yarn, then I was trying to find all kinds of odds and ends so he could keep winding!

Leave a Reply

