Hiking in Sabino Canyon

B and I went up to Sabino Canyon. It was my first time, though everyone in Tucson talks about it, so that was silly. There is actual REAL water there! A real river that flows even in March!

The stepping stones gave me the willies, so I paddled instead. I love paddling (wading for you Americans) and take every chance I get.

I love paddling

I love paddling

B has shown a knack, even better than my own, for spotting wildlife. He spotted a GILA MONSTER!

These things latch on and gnaw at you to inject their venom, but only if you make them angry

These things latch on and gnaw at you to inject their venom, but only if you make them angry

However, I was better at spotting the birds of prey (my head must be up in the clouds). This one was circling with another one, waiting for my imminent transformation into carrion.

Let's swoop when she takes her next rest

Let's swoop when she takes her next rest

You see, the problem was that we listened to a trail runner about a good trail… W and I fell into this trap in Switzerland once, and it has not turned out well both times (except of course that I have made it up both trails, but not without a fair bit of complaining). The views and sense of achievement were an excellent reward though.

We Made It!

We Made It!

I have more photos up on Picasa. You’ll see that I got quite sidetracked at times (i.e. when we were not on the trail from hell) by the saguaro and the wildflowers that are just coming into bloom.

Leave a Reply

